Search …

Finds the word(s) if they exist anywhere in the product information. To restrict the search to a fixed phrase, "put it in quotes".

Helvete Underground Records

  • Title: Helvete Underground Records
  • Artist: Various Artists
  • Label: Jelodanti Records
  • Format: 2×LP
  • Genres: Compilation, 1980's, Avant Garde, New Wave, No Wave, Post-Punk, Experimental Electronic, Synth-Pop, Garage Rock, DIY
  • Price: €20,00EU (incl. 19% VAT)€16,81non-EU

Sleeve condition: Near Mint (NM)

"Jelodanti production is a small label created by the artist duo Clara Djian and Nicolas Leto, dedicated to republishing free and experimental music. For this first edition, we are proposing a double vinyl record, limited to 300 copies, entirely home-made.

With this double LP compilation, we pay tribute to the Swiss post-punk record label « Helvete Underground », founded in Geneva in 1984 by Alain Jeanmairet, with a sound between post-punk, synthetic, garage and no-wave.

Helvete Underground only edited 7 albums at the time, including a compilation.
The bands that appeared on the label were :

- Abt 409 (Switzerland)
- Copvlation (Switzerland)
- Xerxes Von Munsrhein (Switzerland)
- The Indian Feast (Switzerland)
- Jad Wio (France)
- Le Faster (Switzerland)
- Fist of Facts (New-York)

In this tribute compilation appear 5 of the bands :

ABT 409// The band ABT409 was formed early 1980s by the art students : David Di Guardo, Yves Knobel and Robert Ender, joigned later by Bernard Trontin – an important figure of the Swiss experimental scene, well-known for being the drummer of The Young Gods. Multidisciplinary, ABT409 also creates through painting or video. They were produced by Roli Mosimann, recorded at the Platinum Studio by Voco Fauxpass.

Xerxes Von Munsrhein// Yves Arnold is the only member of this one-man band which offers a synthetic music, depressive and melancholic, composed of beatboxes, keyboards and a voice out from the grave. Only 4 tracks have ever been published by Xerxes von Munsrhein, on the original Helvete Underground compilation.

Fist of Facts// This band is a variable-geometry formation, part of the members are Ken ‘Man’ Caldeira, Salvatore Principato (Liquid Liquid), Felice Rosser, Don Dowde, Geneviève Boutet De Monvel, Shlomo Sonnenfeld and Mark Cunningham (Mars). In a spirit close to his first band Liquid Liquid, Salvatore Principato proposes cold funk and hypnotic grooves.

Indian Feast// This band from Geneva only produced one album made up of very eclectic sounds, coming from various universe (garage, industrial, dark-wave or experimental). The members are Vincent (?), Frank Mulhauser, Léo Zouridis (RIP), Francoise (?), Jolyn (?) et Paul the pulse.

COPVLATION// The band plays a tortuous rock, with a bass line radically cold and groovy, with syncopated rhythms and a torned voice – missing link between post punk and Indie rock. The members are Robert Ender, François Wolf and the drummer Bernard Trontin, who joined the group after the split-up of ABT 409."

Tracklist :

ABT 409
(’Abt 409’, 1986)
- Eye Witness
- Living Paradox
(’Compil Helvete Underground’, 1984)
- Chisq
- Breakage

(’Compil Helvete Underground’, 1984)
- 1959
- Violettes Impériales
- Music Machine
- IV Reich Die Marmor Antenne
(’Fugitive Vesco’, 1988)
- First Strike

(’Fugitive Vesco’, 1988)
- Fugitive Vesco
(’Portrait of a Sister’, 1985)
- The Time is Now
- 1000 Sacred Needles/ Soldiers of the Dark
- S/S Traces
- Burning cathedrals

(’Copulation’, 1985)
- First Recidive
- He Said He Said
- Bye Bye Gagarin
- Tschintgtschent Onns