Recherche …

Finds the word(s) if they exist anywhere in the product information. To restrict the search to a fixed phrase, "put it in quotes".


  • Titre: Compilation
  • Artiste: The Work
  • Label: Jelodanti Records
  • Format: LP
  • Genres: Post-Punk, Progrock, Industrial, No Wave, Misc France
  • Prix: €19,90UE (incl. 19% TVA)€16,72non UE

"When "The Work" was New

It was that time of the century: punk had seen prog off the premises and the New Wave had clambered over their exhausted bodies to claim the citadel for itself. The genius of the New Wave was that it didn’t represent any particular musical idea; it was just a name, so anything could fly under its banner – as long as it observed the accepted musical, attitudinal and sartorial conventions. Poorly disguised hangovers from prog, jazz or metal would be rooted out but, in the newly polymorphous cultural climate, rebranding – if honest – would not be punished; indeed, everyone was at it. And the prize was a novel and reinvigorated aesthetic."

Mick Hobbs : bass, guitar
Rick Wilson : drums, percussion, voice, ‘cello
Tim Hodgkinson : flat guitar, keyboard, alto sax, main voice
Bill Gilonis : guitar

Side A: tracks 1 and 2 were originally released on a 7” single in 1981; tracks 3, 4 and 5 are from ‘Slow Crimes’ (LP/CD, 1982).

Side B: tracks 2, 3 and 6 are from ‘Rubber Cage’ (LP/CD, 1990); track 4 is from ‘See’ (CD, 1992); tracks 1 and 5 are from ‘The 4th World’ (live recording from 1994, released on CD in 2010).

A1. Fingers And Toes 2:51
A2. I Hate America 5:52
A3. Brickyard 4:36
A4. State-Room 3:24
A5. Do It 2:17
B1. Hell 3:10
B2. Abdomen 1:56
B3. Dangerfish 2:16
B4. Eat 5:26
B5. Read To Me 3:24
B6. Stone 2:39