• Title: AKP
  • Artists: Kris Limbach, Anton Mobin, Pierce Warnecke
  • Labels: Emitter Micro, Middle Eight Recordings
  • Format: CD
  • Genres: Experimental Electronic, Electro-Acoustic, Musique Concrète, Improvisation, Misc Berlin, Misc France
  • Price: €11,00EU (incl. 19% VAT)€9,24non-EU

Anton Mobin, Kris Limbach & Pierce Warnecke

Limited edition of 300 copies.

"A few Sundays ago (actually about 278), three friends met up at a small city-studio with the intent of recording an album. They squeezed three tables into a triangle shape inside a square room, in a disposition that would let everyone see and hear each other equally well.

Then appeared, bit by bit, a very elegant chaos of machines and motors, objects and effects, software and noise boxes, cables and microphones, tapes and toys, and mixers and speakers which were expertly placed and/or randomly strewn across the wooden and glass tabletops, creating a kind of pawn-shop medical-research laboratory specialized in generating all things audio. More importantly, aside from the assortment of sound-related devices, were the hands, eyes and ears of the three participants. They began.

Improvisation is an elusive beast. Sometimes what should amount to an interesting result just doesn’t live up to expectations. Sometimes there is an explanation: weather, mood, health, astral alignments, kiwis. Sometimes there is none. Upon listening back multiple times to the sessions, the friends were unanimous: while there were excellent moments and interesting materials, the whole of the session was missing something. The project was abandoned.

Some Sundays later, it was proposed by one of them to take the existing materials and divide them in three, each person reworking the recordings into compositions, in the hopes that they might have a little more cohesion to them. The idea was ratified, the friends went to work and thus the present pieces were born.

More Sundays pass, more individual projects come and go. The friends stay in touch, but go their own ways. The music remains. Here it is."

Anton Mobin: prepared chamber, tapes
Kris Limbach: drums, tapes, rotors
Pierce Warnecke: laptop, electronics, microphones

Sound materials played live and multitrack recorded at emitter19 studios in Berlin, February 2012.
The sessions presented three parts that each musician took care and process/edit/mixed separately.

Mastered by Kris Limbach at e-19 studios in 2016.